Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 224. Sociology and Anthropology Department. Records of the Sociology and Anthropology Department, 1947-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Sociology and Anthropology Department.  Records of the Sociology and Anthropology Department, 1947-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 224.  1 Records Center Carton and ½ Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Sociology and Anthropology Department collection consists of records that document the department’s activities from 1947 through the present.  Collection includes course materials, budgets, minutes, correspondence, and various other records pertaining to this department.  The earliest materials in the collection date to approximately 1947, but the majority of the materials date between 1960 and 1984.  New materials are added when made available to the archives.

Historical Note

The Sociology and Anthropology department was first established in 1908 as Sociology and Economics, and underwent several name changes over the years, including The Social Sciences, Social Science and Commerce, and Social Work.

Scope and Content

This collection consists of three series: Course Files, Department Files, and Personnel Files.

Course Files, 1947-1984: This series contains materials pertaining to courses offered by the department, including planning materials, descriptions, schedules, and enrollment.

Department Files, 1940s-1986, 2018-19: This series contains materials pertaining to the running of the department.  Subjects include meeting minutes, ledgers, correspondence, hiring procedures, department majors, and student work study.

Personnel Files, 1965-1985: This series contains materials pertaining to the faculty of the department.  Subjects include documents relating to hiring, tenure review, promotion, and research.  

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License