Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 227. Campus Activities Board. Collection of the Campus Activities Board, 1952-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Campus Activities Board.  Collection of the Campus Activities Board, 1952-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 227.  1 Records Center Carton, 3 flat boxes, 1 oversize folder, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Campus Activities Board collection consists of materials related to the administrative business of the board as well as events and activities sponsored such as homecoming, Dancing with the Profs, and President’s Ball.  The earliest materials date from 1952.  Directories of student organizations, sororities, fraternities, as well as event schedules and planning materials for Family Weekend and Senior Week are also included.  Additional materials will be added as they are received by the archives.

Organization Note

“The Campus Activities Board was designed with the fundamental goals to enrich the educational, cultural, social and recreational needs for the entire Gustavus community. It is our duty to plan and execute a variety of programs and activities, being sure to satisfy the entertainment needs of the student body. With student input we hope to provide the community with a vast array of entertainment opportunities.

The mission of the Campus Activities Board is to enrich the campus life experience by encouraging the involvement of all students in entertainment that is exciting, fun and diverse.

The Campus Activities Board strives for success in a variety of ways but primarily -through these common goals: gaining all student input, planning and implementing diverse events, becoming recognized leaders, providing students with a connection to campus and having fun.

The Campus Activities Board is a member of the National Association for Campus Activities (NACA). NACA was created in 1960 to help increase the buying power of campus programming dollars. Today NACA has more than 1,000 college and university members and offers many different events, educational institutes, publications and networking opportunities for many colleges and universities. By being a member in NACA the Campus Activities Board hopes to gain professional knowledge and input on planning and programming successful events.”

* obtained from CAB homepage, 4 May 2010

Scope and Content

  • Administrative, 1981-Ongoing holds administrative materials including budgets and constitutions.
  • Activities and Programs, 1952-Ongoing includes programs and planning materials for different events, such as Dancing with the Profs, Homecoming, and President’s Ball.
  • Scrapbooks, 1997-Ongoing has photos and memorabilia from the year’s activities.
  • T-Shirts, 1999-Ongoing holds T-shirts made for CAB sponsored events.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License