Skip to main content

GACA Collection 236. Black Student Organization. Collection of the Black Student Organization, 1970-1992: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Black Student Organization.  Collection of the Black Student Organization, 1970-1992.  GACA Collection 236.  1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Black Student Organization collection consists of membership information, financial documents, newsletters, event planning materials, and a scrapbook.  Contained within the scrapbook are a partial constitution, several news clippings, and numerous member photographs.  Most collection materials date from the 1970s.

Organization Note

The Black Student Organization (BSO) formed at Gustavus during 1963.  By the mid 1970s, members were helping with “recruiting and advising potential black freshmen [and seeing that] . . . new students have the essentials for living on campus such as clothing, books, etc.”  BSO members organized activities during Black Consciousness Week and Black History Month.  Although the BSO still existed during 1999, the organization’s name and focus changed to the Pan Afrikan Student Organization about 2001.

Information obtained from the Gustavian Weekly, 19 October 1979, p. 5 and the Gustavus website during October 2010.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License