Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 249. Hoogenboom, Bernard. Collection of Bernard Hoogenboom, 1955-2008: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Hoogenboom, Bernard.  Collection of Bernard Hoogenboom, 1955-2008.  GACA Collection 249.  2 Records Center Cartons and 1 ½ Hollinger boxes.  

ABSTRACT:
The Bernard Hoogenboom collection consists of publications, writings, research notebooks, grade books, teaching materials, and student research papers and notebooks.  Hoogenboom taught chemistry at Gustavus Adolphus College from 1958-1996.

Biographical Note

Bernard Hoogenboom was born 16 March 1932 in East Goshen, Indiana.   He received a Bachelor’s degree from DePauw University in 1954, a Master’s degree and Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from the University of Iowa in 1956 and 1958, respectively.  He also received a Master’s degree in Environmental Health from the University of Minnesota in 1983. 

Hoogenboom began teaching at Gustavus Adolphus College in 1958 and retired as Emeritus Professor in 1996.  In 1963, he received an $8,500 grant from the National Science Foundation for support of undergraduate research in chemistry and for the purchase of automatic balances to enlarge the rapid weighting facilities in the Nobel Hall of Science.  Over the course of his career, Hoogenboom participated in teaching and research at Gustavus, University of Illinois-Champaign, Groningen University in the Netherlands, and Kansai Gaidai University in Japan.  He was also a member of Sigma Xi Honorary Scientific Research Society and the American Chemical Society.

On 27 August 1955 he married Louis Brown in Mount Vernon, Ohio.  Together they had three sons, Dirk, Pat, and Jon.  Bernard Hoogenboom passed away at 82 years old on 30 January 2015.

Scope and Content

This collection contains five series: Grade Books; Publications, Writings, and Research; Teaching Materials; Student Research Files; and Miscellaneous.

Grade Books, 1958-1995 and undated holds grades given to students of Bernard Hoogenboom.  This series is restricted.

Publications, Writings, and Research, 1955-2008 and undated is comprised of published articles, unpublished writings, speeches, and research notebooks.

Teaching Materials, 1964-1995 and undated encompasses laboratory manuals, course planning, and experiment scheduling for chemistry classes at Gustavus.

Student Research Files, 1963-1987 and undated consists of student research papers and notebooks.

Miscellaneous, 1965-1998 and undated contains correspondence, grant and leave proposals, a resume, and a play about chemistry.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License