Skip to main content

GACA Collection 250. Anderson, Reynold “Ren” E. Collection of Ren and Sylvia Anderson, 1971-1994: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Anderson, Reynold “Ren” E.  Collection of Ren and Sylvia Anderson, 1971-1994.  GACA Collection 250.  5 folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Reynold “Ren” Anderson collection contains correspondence, newspaper clippings, and two plaques from the Gustavus Alumni Association.  The first was given to his wife, Sylvia Benzon Anderson for First Place in Decade Performance, Percentage of Participation in 1976.  The second was given to Ren Anderson as a salute for being the 1987 Co-Chairman.  In addition, there is a VHS tape and a DVD recording of his Rite of Burial.  Anderson was born 31 December 1912.  He graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1934.  He worked in the College’s Public Relations Department from 1945-78.

Biographical Note

Ren Anderson worked originally at Gustavus Adolphus College after his graduation for two years in both the Journalism and Physical Education departments.  He returned to Gustavus in 1945 as the Public Relations Director.  He was promoted later to the position of Vice President for Public Relations and Development.  He retired in 1978.  During Anderson’s time at Gustavus he helped launch the Nobel Science Conference in 1965.  Anderson and his wife Sylvia traveled to Sweden in 1963 for the Nobel Prize Ceremony, making contacts that would help with the dedication of the Alfred Nobel Hall of Science and to the creation of the Nobel Science Conference.  In 1964, he received the Greater Gustavus Award.  Anderson was knighted by the Swedish Royal Family when they visited Gustavus during 1968.  In 1978, he became a charter member of the Gustavus Athletic Hall of Fame for his football exploits.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License