Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 258. Peace Studies. Collection of the Peace Studies Program, 1970-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Peace Studies.  Collection of the Peace Studies Program, 1970-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 258.  1 Records Center Carton, 1 cassette box, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Peace Studies collection contains history, curriculum, financial documents, reviews and reports, and committee information for the Peace Studies/Education program.  There is also information from other Peace Consortiums along with recordings from the Raoul Wallenberg Memorial Lectures.  The majority of the collection is from the 1970s with some information from the early 1990s as well.

Organization Note

“Peace Studies is an interdisciplinary field of study which addresses the problems of war, social oppression and violence, and the challenges of implementing nonviolent conflict resolution and social justice. Peace Studies serves to focus knowledge from diverse disciplines to converge on the problems of violence and the challenges of finding peaceful solutions.”*  The Peace Studies program began in 1972 and was known originally as Peace Education.  Currently, there is a Peace Studies minor available, though in the past, a major was also offered.

*Taken from the Peace Studies website (http://gustavus.edu/peacestudies/), 23 November 2010.

The Raoul Wallenberg Memorial Lecture, begun in 1983, invites speakers to commemorate the heroic service of Raoul Wallenberg in his fearless support of persecuted Jews during World War II.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into seven sections: history and curriculum, budgets and financial documents, reviews and reports, committee, peace consortiums, miscellaneous, and audio recordings.

History and Curriculum, 1970-95 and undated holds information on the proposals and program outlines for the department along with materials about classes, workshops, guest speakers, lectures, grants, faculty leaves, and a student questionnaire.

Budgets and Financial Information, 1974-77, 1983-98, and undated is composed of budgets, expense vouchers, receipts, and other financial documentation.

Reviews and Reports, 1974-76, 1992, and undated consists of reviews and reports from both on campus and from the outside about Gustavus’ Peace Education program.  These include reports given by Peace Education faculty to the Board of Trustees and the Faculty Meetings.

Committee, 1972-77, 1983-85, and 1992-95 is composed of meeting minutes, memos, and correspondence related to the Peace Studies/Education committee.

Peace Consortiums, 1973-77 and undated contains information about the Consortium on Peace Research, Education and Development (COPRED) and the Minnesota Consortium of Peace Educators.

Miscellaneous, 1972-94 and undated has correspondence, papers, newsletters, and articles, materials from other conferences, and additional materials.  The “Busing in Boston” paper is from a Gustavus student trip to Boston, where they interviewed local leaders about the busing situation.

Audio and Video Recordings, 1984-Ongoing includes recordings on audio cassettes of lectures sponsored by the Peace Studies program, including the Raoul Wallenberg Memorial Lecture.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License