Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 259. Navy V-12 Program. Collection of the Navy V-12 Program at Gustavus Adolphus College, 1942-1948, 1987, and 1993: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Navy V-12 Program.  Collection of the Navy V-12 Program at Gustavus Adolphus College, 1942-1948, 1987, and 1993.  GACA Collection 259.  1 extra wide Hollinger box, 1 legal size Hollinger box, and 1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Navy V-12 Program collection contains materials relating to the United States’ V-12 Navy College Training Program at Gustavus Adolphus College.  Included are Navy Bulletins, manuals, regulations, correspondence, curriculum, board minutes, plaques, and a film strip.

Historical Note

The V-12 Navy College Training Program began in 1943 and was “designed to produce officers for the Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard through the training of students and recent graduates of high schools and prepatory schools, enlisted men of the Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard, and college students.”  Students were trained for general duties by taking one and one-third years of study under contract to the Navy.  This consisted of four 16 week terms of college work.  At the conclusion of their college work, students would take specialized Naval training that would lead to their commissions.  Students were rated as apprentice seamen, U.S. Naval Reserve.*

*Taken from collection.

Scope and Content

This collection contains two sections: Gustavus and General.

Gustavus 1942-48 and undated holds materials related specifically to the Navy V-12 program at Gustavus Adolphus College.  This includes board minutes, correspondence, regulations, a film, and two plaques.  Folders marked only with dates contain materials such as correspondence, staff and material requisitions and other materials related to the implementation of the V-12 program on campus.

General 1942-45, 1987, 1993, and undated contains items related to the Navy V-12 program in general.  This includes curriculum, manuals, Navy bulletins, a book about the program, and two commemorative lunch trays.  Folders marked simply with dates contain mainly correspondence.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License