Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 262. Letters Regarding Banning and Reinstatement of the Greek System, 1988-1992: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Letters Regarding Banning and Reinstatement of the Greek System, 1988-1992.  GACA Collection 262.  5 folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Letters Regarding Banning and Reinstatement of the Greek System collection contains letters written to Gustavus Adolphus College in regards to a decision by the Board of Trustees to ban the Greek system on campus.  Letters were sent in both support of the Board of Trustees and of the Greek system.  Correspondence was prompted by a letter sent to Greek alumni from the fraternities and sororities of Gustavus Adolphus College, 13 April 1988.  The letter explains the Board of Trustees’ decision and asks for letters of support before the next Board meeting, when the decision would be finalized.  There is also a letter written by Pastor Dan Buendorf of the Student Affairs Committee to President John Kendall that contains a summarization of the alumni letters.  Also included is a report from the Ad Hoc Committee to Review the Possible Reinstatement of Fraternities and Sororities at Gustavus Adolphus College, along with some letters regarding the same topic.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License