Skip to main content

GACA Collection 272. Commission Gustavus 150. Records of Commission Gustavus 150, 2008-2012: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Commission Gustavus 150.  Records of Commission Gustavus 150, 2008-2012.  GACA Collection 272.  1 Records Center Carton.

ABSTRACT:
The Commission Gustavus 150 collection contains task force meeting minutes, recommendations, overviews, readings, and data for the specific task forces from 2008-09.  Also included is material from a workshop in August 2009.  The Commission was formed as part of the strategic planning process at Gustavus Adolphus College with a focus on the school’s sesquicentennial anniversary.

Historical Note

“Commission Gustavus 150 is the next step in the College’s strategic planning process.

The Gustavus community developed a Strategic Plan in 2007-08 that was approved by the Board of Trustees in April 2008.  The College is now poised to engage a broader constituency and develop action steps to implement its Strategic Plan and to celebrate its Sesquicentennial in 2012.

The Gustavus Adolphus College Strategic Plan affirms the College’s identity as an undergraduate, independent, liberal arts, residential College of the Church.

Gustavus is poised to secure its rightful place among the leading liberal arts colleges in the nation.

Gustavus Adolphus College is a learning community, rooted in its Swedish traditions and the Lutheran faith, committed to excellence in all it does and determined to ensure justice and fairness through lives of leadership and service.

Commission Gustavus 150 received the support of the Faculty Senate at its September 2008 meeting and was approved and adopted by the Board of Trustees in October 2008.  The Commission Task Forces will make specific recommendations for the future advancement of the College to the Board.  The Board of Trustees will then prioritize the Task Force recommendations.  The recommendations will become the priorities of the College, providing the foundation for the implementation of the Strategic Plan, and the basis for the next comprehensive fundraising campaign.”

Warren Beck ’67 chaired Commission Gustavus 150.

*Taken from collection.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into one section: Task Forces.

Task Forces, 2008-09 contains meeting minutes, recommendations, overviews, readings and data related to the specific task force.  The task forces researched their specific area and then made recommendations to the Board of Trustees.  These recommendations would be prioritized and used in the implementation of the College’s Strategic Plan.  The task forces included in this section are:

Academic Programs and New Initiatives

Community Engagement

Facilities and Finance

Faith

Global and Multicultural Initiatives

Interdisciplinary Programs

Stewardship

Student Life

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License