Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 281. Department of Scandinavian Studies. Collection of the Department of Scandinavian Studies, 1969-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Department of Scandinavian Studies.  Collection of the Department of Scandinavian Studies, 1969-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 281.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT: 
The Department of Scandinavian Studies collection contains correspondence, reports, newsletters, clippings, and administrative materials.  Faculty, in this department, teach both Swedish language courses, and courses in English regarding Scandinavian literature, culture, history, and art.

Historical Note

Swedish language courses have been taught at Gustavus Adolphus College since 1880.  A time when all courses were taught in either English or Swedish.  In 1971, thanks to seed money from the Scandinavian American Foundation, the Scandinavian Area Studies program at Gustavus was born.  The program was intended to have both Swedish language courses and courses in English regarding Scandinavian literature, culture, and art.  In 1982, the Scandinavian Studies department was created, and the Swedish language courses, along with its professors, moved out of the Foreign Languages department.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into two series.

Roland Thorstensson’s Department History consists of materials organized by Scandinavian Studies Professor Emeritus Roland Thorstensson.  Materials include correspondence, reports, press clippings, and musings by Thorstensson.

Department Materials has department overviews, external review reports, newsletters, clippings, and other materials transferred from the Scandinavian Studies department.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License