Skip to main content

GACA Collection 287. New Student Orientation, 1907-Ongoing: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

New Student Orientation, 1907-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 287.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes, 2 flat boxes, 1 oversize folder, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The New Students Orientation collection consists of materials given to new students at Gustavus Adolphus College. Packets include information such as maps, lists of faculty, the college Alma Mater, and Gustie Rouser, along with lists of orientation events occurring during orientation, such as the Reading in Common program and the President's Banquet.  This collection also holds materials related to transfer student orientation and the Gustie Greeters, a group of upper-class student leaders who assist incoming students through New Student Orientation.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into two series: Orientation and Gustie Greeters.

Orientation, 1907-Ongoing is comprised mainly of new student orientation packets, which include maps, events of lists, the school song, and other pertinent information for new students.  There are also some Orientation T-shirts.

Gustie Greeters, 1992-Ongoing contains materials related to being a Gustie Greeter, including contracts, expectations, meeting minutes, and lists of Greeters.  A sweatshirt, some T-shirts, and lanyard are also included.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License