Skip to main content

GACA Collection 296. Swedish Lutheran Board of Education. Records of the Swedish Lutheran Board of Education, 1875-1942: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Swedish Lutheran Board of Education.  Records of the Swedish Lutheran Board of Education, 1875-1942.  GACA Collection 296.  1 Records Center Carton, 1 ½ Hollinger boxes, and 1 oversize folder.

ABSTRACT:
The Swedish Lutheran Board of Education collection contains mostly minutes from the governing body of Gustavus Adolphus College.  Also included are financial materials, committee minutes, recommendations, and reports.  The Swedish Lutheran Board of Education was the governing body of Gustavus Adolphus College from 1875-May 1942 when it became the Board of Trustees of Gustavus Adolphus College.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into four series: Committees; Financial; Minutes; and Miscellaneous.

Committees, 1904-1942, consists of minutes and related materials of various committees arranged alphabetically by committee name.

Financial, 1875-1942, holds audit reports, promissory notes, treasurer’s reports, and other financial records, arranged alphabetically by record type.

Minutes, 1875-1942, has the minutes from the annual and special Swedish Lutheran Board of Education meetings, arranged chronologically.

Miscellaneous, 1874-1940 contains various materials arranged alphabetically.  Included are the Articles of Incorporation, campus improvement plans, financial planning for new buildings, property agreements, and reports and recommendations to the Board.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License