Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 299. Department of Health & Exercise Science. Collection of the Department of Health and Exercise Science, 1942-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Department of Health & Exercise Science.  Collection of the Department of Health and Exercise Science, 1942-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 299.  1 Records Center Carton and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Health and Exercise Science collection contains annual reports, and program proposals for the athletic training undergraduate education program at Gustavus Adolphus College.  It also includes self-study reports, accreditation information, and curriculum information for the athletic training program.  The collection also contains a 1942 report on the department, a 1979 survey on athletic facilities, and 1983-83 course listings.

Historical Note

The Physical Education Department was established in 1914.  In 1913, there was only a physical education requirement.  The department has had numerous name changes, including Physical Education and Health, Health and Physical Education, and Physical Education, Health, and Athletics.  In 1994, the department name changed to its current name, Health and Exercise Science.  In 1973, the department offered the first athletic training course and in 1983 athletic training became a major.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License