Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 302. Joshua A. Edquist and Family Collection, 1881-1987: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

The Joshua A. Edquist and Family Collection, 1881-1987.  GACA Collection 302.  2 Hollinger boxes and 2 flat boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Joshua Edquist and Family collection contains several articles he composed as well as a great deal of assorted correspondence.  Additionally, it includes miscellaneous church records, programs, and numerous photographs related to the Edquist family.  Edquist served in the Biology, History, and Geography departments of Gustavus Adolphus College from 1889 to 1930.  He also was on the college’s administrative staff as the Registrar from 1892-95, 1897- 98, and 1907-21.  He married Anna K. Pehrson, a fellow faculty member, on 14 October 1899.  The arrangement of the first box in this collection is to some degree in keeping with the collection inventory that was found with the manuscripts.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into two series: Joshua Edquist and the Edquist Family.

Joshua Edquist, 1881-1981: These materials include Edquist’s compositions, correspondence, records, and obituaries.

Edquist Family, 1882-1987: This series is comprised mainly of photographs and documents of his extended family. 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License