Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 314. Women’s Studies Committee. Collection of the Women’s Studies Committee, 1975-2001: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Women’s Studies Committee.  Collection of the Women’s Studies Committee, 1975-2001.  GACA Collection 314.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Women’s Studies Committee collection contains meeting minutes, financial materials, correspondence, and other materials related to the Women’s Studies curriculum at Gustavus Adolphus College.  The program began with an endowment grant from the Surdna Foundation received in 1977.  The endowment was for library acquisitions in the women’s studies field.  Funds were also used to hire consultants, holds workshops, and sponsor activities and research in women’s studies.  A Women’s Studies inter-departmental minor was offered beginning 1990 and a major was added in 2001.  As of 2008, the name changed to Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into three series: Surdna Committee, Women’s Studies Committee, and Miscellaneous.

Surdna Committee, 1977-1992 consists of meeting minutes, financial materials, faculty requests for money, and information about consultants from both the Advisory Committee for Surdna Library Acquisitions and the Surdna Committee.  Materials are arranged chronologically.

Women’s Studies Committee, 1989-2001 holds meeting minutes, financial materials, handbooks, correspondence and event and curriculum information of both the Women’s Studies Committee and the Women’s Studies Curriculum Committee.  Materials are arranged chronologically.

Miscellaneous, 1975, 1988, and 1991 is comprised of pre-history correspondence indicating that women’s studies was not a priority in 1975, along with a report, and program information.  Materials are arranged chronologically.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License