Skip to main content

GACA Collection 322. Office of Institutional Advancement. Collection of the Office of Institutional Advancement, 1870-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Office of Institutional Advancement. Collection of the Office of Institutional Advancement 1870-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 322.  9 Records Center Cartons, 1 Hollinger box, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Office of Institutional Advancement Collection consists of financial information pertaining to gifts, corporate and foundation donations, funds and receipts for campus events, and various correspondence.  It also includes information about numerous associations involved in the improvement of the college, efforts to connect with organizations outside of the Gustavus community, and materials from various fundraising campaigns.  The office exists to enable Gustavus to fulfill its mission by communicating its distinctiveness, facilitating lifelong relationships, and securing human and financial resources.  Currently, the Office of Institutional Advancement is separated into the Alumni Office, Gift Planning, the Gustavus Fund, and Corporate and Foundation Relations divisions.

Scope and Content

The collection is divided into seven series: Associations, Councils, and Boards; Campus Expansion; Fundraising; Miscellaneous; Public Outreach; Reports and Papers; and Wills and Deeds.           

Associations, Councils, and Boards, 1941-Ongoing holds documents on various associations, councils, and boards including the funds they use and proposals made to them.  It also consists of Greater Gustavus Association materials.

Campus Expansion, 1964-Ongoing includes plans and fundraising materials regarding the growth and improvement of the campus.

Fundraising, 1870-Ongoing consists of documents from various fundraising campaigns, funds, foundations, donors, and organizations such as Gustavus Adolphus Leadership Appeal (GALA).

Public Outreach, 1889-Ongoing includes correspondence with donors, planning materials for Swedish royalty visits, and information about other campus events.

Reports and Papers, 1948-96 holds research reports, presentations, papers, speeches, and surveys about fundraising and internal analysis.

Wills and Deeds, 1885-1995 contains stock certificates, wills, deeds, and estates that include Gustavus as a beneficiary.  It also holds wills, annuities, and insurance that had a bequeathal to Gustavus and have been terminated or given in their entirety.

Miscellaneous, 1948-Ongoing contains materials regarding fine arts, Gustavus’s connections with Sweden, Robert A. Peterson’s retirement dinner, and an invoice.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License