Skip to main content

GACA Collection 342. Folke Bernadotte Memorial Foundation. Collection of the Folke Bernadotte Memorial Foundation, 1949-1968: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Folke Bernadotte Memorial Foundation.  Collection of the Folke Bernadotte Memorial Foundation, 1949-1968.  GACA Collection 342.  1 Records Center Carton.

ABSTRACT:
The Folke Bernadotte Memorial Foundation collection includes materials documenting the formation of this foundation in memory of Swedish diplomat, Count Folke Bernadotte, and its efforts to fundraise for Gustavus Adolphus College.  The majority of the collection consists of board meeting and financial information, correspondence, and related news articles.  Scrapbooks and European travel programs organized by the foundation are also incorporated.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into four series: Administrative, Correspondence, News and Publicity, and Miscellaneous.

Administrative, 1950-1965 contains board meeting minutes, financial, and fundraising records.  Various reports and information regarding the foundation‘s formation are also included.

Correspondence, 1949-1965 holds correspondence discussing establishment, board meetings, gifts from donors, and the materials of Roy Hendrickson, Chair of the Board of Trustees.

News and Publicity, 1949-1964 consists of articles and programs that discuss the foundation and related events.

Miscellaneous, 1950-1968 includes materials from travel programs, financial negotiations, and scrapbooks which contain random clippings from various Bernadotte Foundation events and meetings.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License