Skip to main content

GACA Collection 344. Environmental Studies. Collection of the Environmental Studies Program, 1971-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Environmental Studies.  Collection of the Environmental Studies Program, 1971-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 344.  1 folder.

ABSTRACT:
The Environmental Studies collection contains reports, correspondence, and financial materials related to the Kellogg Foundation Grant, College Resources for Environmental Studies (CRES).  This grant helped fund the purchase of resources for the Environmental Studies major that was first offered during the 1969-70 academic year.

Historical Note

“The Environmental Studies (ES) Program combines rigorous empiricism with analysis of ethical, aesthetic, and historical issues in examining the relationship between humans and the nonhuman world. A rich array of faculty expertise, courses, facilities, internships, and study abroad options provides the foundation for an interdisciplinary study of the environment.”*

The Environmental Studies Program offers a distributive major which was originally considered part of the Division of Area Studies.  There are no listings in the college catalog for an environmental studies major or for a track of classes from the mid-1980s to the mid-1990s.

As of 2013, Environmental Studies majors take classes in the departments of Art, Biology, Chemistry, English, Geology, Geography, History, Political Science, Economics, and Sociology/Anthropology.

*Taken from the Environmental Studies website (https://gustavus.edu/env-studies/) 21 June 2013.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License