Skip to main content

GACA Collection 352. The Gustavian Weekly. The Gustavian Weekly and Business Manager Records, September 1920-Ongoing: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

The Gustavian WeeklyThe Gustavian Weekly and Business Manager Records, September 1920-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 352.  3 Hollinger boxes, 19 flat boxes, 2 CD boxes, 2 orange plastic carrying cases, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Gustavian Weekly collection consists of editions of the paper in multiple formats, financial documents, advertiser information, and other business materials.  This student newspaper has existed at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota from September 1920 to the present.  Previous student newspapers were the Annual Messenger, Vox Collegii, Heimdall, Gustaviana, the Gustavus Adolphus Journal and College Breezes.  This collection is arranged chronologically by academic year.  Card catalog indexes for names and subjects mentioned within the publication are maintained within the College Archives.

Publication Note

Occasionally the student newspaper would run under a different name for a few issues and then return to The Gustavian Weekly.  During the 1970s the titles Junction and None of the Above were used.  It was also common during the 1980s-2000s for spoof issues to be printed.  These issues often had titles that would play on The Gustavian Weekly name and contained comical/satirical articles.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License