Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 356. Youngquist, John Adolph. Papers of J.A. Youngquist, 1885-1942: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Youngquist, John Adolph.  Papers of J.A. Youngquist, 1885-1942.  GACA Collection 356.  2 ½ Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The J.A. Youngquist Papers collection contains correspondence, writings, record books, photographs, report cards, scrapbooks of newspaper clippings, and administrative materials from the book store at Gustavus Adolphus College.  Most photographs appear to be from the time his daughters Ruth and Adeline were at Gustavus.  Both women are mentioned in some of the photographs.  The four scrapbooks of newspaper clippings concern school affairs and are about general education issues and public schools.  These seem unrelated to Gustavus.  Report cards show the work of John Youngquist and his brother, Robert.  J.A. Youngquist was a member of the first graduating class of Gustavus Adolphus College in 1890, after which he taught Latin and Greek at Gustavus from 1892-1942.  During this time he also ran the college book store.  Some materials in this collection are in Swedish.

Biographical Note

John Adolph Johanson was born 12 October 1860 in Ronneby, Sweden.  The surname Johanson was changed to Youngquist when his family came to America in 1872.  They settled in Minnesota, and Youngquist began attending Gustavus Adolphus College in 1881.  He was a member of the first graduating class in 1890.  Two years later he began teaching Latin and Greek at Gustavus.  Over the years he also taught some math and German and handled the book store during the 1890s-1920s, after which the book store became part of the Treasurer’s Office.  Youngquist taught at Gustavus for 50 years.  In 1899 he received an honorary Master of Arts degree, and in 1940 he received an honorary Doctor of Letters degree, both from Gustavus Adolphus College.  Youngquist and his wife, Hilda Josephine (née Newstrom), had three daughters, Ruth Youngquist, Academy Class of 1915, Adeline Youngquist (Mrs. Benjamin Andreen), College Class of 1917, and Marion Youngquist (Mrs. Rufus Logan), College Class of 1924.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License