Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 365. Gustavus Adolphus School of Commerce. Student Records of the School of Commerce, 1889-1922: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Gustavus Adolphus School of Commerce.  Student Records of the School of Commerce, 1889-1922.  GACA Collection 365.  1 Hollinger box and 1 flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Gustavus Adolphus School of Commerce collection contains student records from the school.  Grade reports, record books, records of work, reports of examinations, and the school register all contain student names and grades.  Also included in this collection are enrollment slips.  The School of Commerce began in 1887 and closed in 1922 due to decreasing registrants.

Historical Note

The School of Commerce at Gustavus Adolphus College began in 1887 with the purpose of teaching business practices.  Courses included bookkeeping, penmanship, arithmetic, commercial correspondence, civil government, shorthand and typewriting, business practice, Bible knowledge, grammar, spelling, commercial, and constitutional law.  The School of Commerce offered Bachelors and Masters degrees in Bookkeeping/Accounting, along with course tracks in Shorthand and Typewriting and Short Business.  Due to declining enrollment the School of Commerce closed at the end of the 1921-22 academic year.  All business classes were afterwards provided by the Economics Department of Gustavus Adolphus College.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License