Skip to main content

GACA Collection 374. Saratov University. Letters of Thanks from Saratov University, 7 May 1922: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Saratov University.  Letters of Thanks from Saratov University, 7 May 1922.  GACA Collection 374.  1 folder.

ABSTRACT:
The Saratov University Letters of Thanks collection contains two letters sent to Gustavus Adolphus College.  Ethnic German-Lutheran students and faculty of Saratov University, in the Volga River region of Russia, sent decorated letters to the students and faculty of Gustavus thanking them for their financial assistance during a devastating famine in the early 1920s.

Historical Note

“A drought, coupled with massive economic and social restructuring during the Russian Revolution, resulted in a devastating famine in 1921-1922 in the Volga region, which includes the city of Saratov.  Gustavus students and faculty responded to an appeal from the National Lutheran Council in late 1921 with a contribution of $393.25 toward Russian relief.  This letter of thanks, with parallel text in Russian and English, was written by students of German ancestry enrolled at Saratov University.”

*Taken from collection.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License