Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 375. GustieLeaks Collection, 2001-2013: Overview

Collection Finding Aid

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

GustieLeaks Collection, 2001-2013.  GACA Collection 375.  1 folder.

ABSTRACT:
The GustieLeaks collection contains newspaper articles, faculty meeting minutes, press releases, correspondence, and reports.  GustieLeaks was a website created in response to the frustration members of the Gustavus Adolphus College community had with President Jack Ohle.  The site’s creators/managers remain unidentified, but based on the types of documents posted, it appears they were from the faculty and/or administration.  The GustieLeaks project somewhat mirrored the, at the time, much publicized “untraceable mass document leaking” website WikiLeaks.

Historical Note

The following is based on information found in this collection.  Ideas expressed do not represent the view or opinions of this document’s creator, the College and Lutheran Archives, or Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library.

During the five years that President Ohle was in office, many in the Gustavus community grew frustrated with what they saw as: “1) decisions that deprioritize the academic program, 2) unilateral and uniformed [sic] decision-making, 3) disregard for the traditions, values, policies, and mission of Gustavus.”  The GustieLeaks website was designed to make public, documents and information relating to these concerns.  On 27 June 2013 the Gustavus Adolphus College Board of Trustees announced President Ohle’s plans to retire in June 2014.  On 29 August 2013 GustieLeaks issued a press release stating that they would retire the website as they felt its purpose had been realized.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License