Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 382. Department of Religion. Collection of the Department of Religion, 1955-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Department of Religion.  Collection of the Department of Religion, 1955-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 382.  ½ Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Department of Religion collection contains department self-studies, course planning, and discussions about the program’s requirements and major.  Also included is data from surveys relating to religious education.  Religion has been a part of the curriculum at Gustavus Adolphus College since the very beginning.

Historical Note

The founder of Gustavus Adolphus College, Rev. Eric Norelius, was a pastor, and made Christian education a focus of his school.  This emphasis continued through the decades with religion always being a core part of the Gustavus curriculum.  Many early students went on to become pastors.  For many years the department was named Christianity, but beginning in 1960 the named changed to Religion as the study of world religions increased.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License