Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 384. St. Ansgar's Society. Collection of St. Ansgar's Society, October 1874: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

St. Ansgar's Society.  Collection of St. Ansgar's Society, October 1874.  GACA Collection 384.  1 folder.

ABSTRACT:
The St. Ansgar’s Society collection contains the organization’s Articles of Incorporation, a contract between the society and A.J. Carlson, and a stock certificate belonging to Andrew Nelson.  St. Ansgar’s Academy located at East Union, Minnesota, was a small prepatory school run by the Lutheran Minnesota Conference of the Augustana Synod.  In 1874 leaders began the planning process of moving the school to St. Peter, Minnesota.  Subsequent to this decision, St. Ansgar’s Society was formed and entered into an agreement with the Lutheran Minnesota Conference whereby it would purchase the school’s buildings and Bevens Creek Mill, paying $1000 beginning five years from 1 October 1874.  Its intention was to establish another St. Ansgar’s School at East Union and thereby replace St. Ansgar’s Academy.  After the move to St. Peter in 1876, St. Ansgar’s Academy was renamed Gustavus Adolphus College.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License