Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 389. Public Events Committee. Collection of the Public Events Committee and Lecture Series Committee, 1971-1994: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Public Events Committee.  Collection of the Public Events Committee and Lecture Series Committee, 1971-1994.  GACA Collection 389.  1 Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Public Events Committee and Lecture Series Committee collection holds planning materials, meeting minutes, and budget information for events held on the Gustavus Adolphus College campus.  Additionally, the Lecture Series Committee portion of the collection includes promotional materials and communication with academic departments and other sponsors submitting proposals and information about potential visiting lectors. The Lecture Series Committee was originally a subcommittee of the Public Events Committee, before gaining greater autonomy as its own organization.

Organization Note

Public Events Committee, 1971-74

Functions:

  1. Direction of special events on an all-college and public nature:
    1. Commencement
    2. Artist Series
    3. Lecture Series
    4. Worship Services
    5. Convocation
  2. Review and recommendations of policies and practices with regard to public events, including those planned by departments. *

*Taken from the Faculty Handbook, 1973-74.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License