Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 405. Collection of American Scandinavian Breakfasts, 1978-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Collection of American Scandinavian Breakfasts, 1978-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 405.  1 Hollinger box and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The American Scandinavian Breakfasts collection contains, correspondence, programs, and planning materials for both the spring and Yuletide American Scandinavian Breakfasts held at Gustavus Adolphus College.  During the 1970s and early 1980s breakfasts were sponsored by the St. Peter/Mankato Chapter of the American Scandinavian Foundation.  After the foundation closed its local chapters in 1983, the breakfasts were organized and hosted by Chester Johnson and Edi Thorstensson of Gustavus Adolphus College.  As of the mid-2000s, the college’s Scandinavian Studies Department sponsors the events.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into two series: Programs and Audio Recordings.

Programs, 1978-Ongoing consists of event programs, mailings, correspondence, and other paper materials dealing with the breakfasts.

Recordings, 1982-1992 contains audio cassette recordings from the breakfasts on cassette tapes.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License