Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 409. Department of Education. Records of the Department of Education, 1950-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Department of Education.  Records of the Department of Education, 1950-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 409.  2 Records Center Cartons, ½ Hollinger box, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Department of Education collection contains department meeting minutes, enrollment materials, lists of graduates, student work, newspaper clippings, and photographs.  Some form of Education classes have existed at Gustavus Adolphus College since 1894.  The Education Department, under its current name, came into existence in 1925.

Organization Note

Classes for students who wanted to become teachers started in the Normal School in 1894.  The Normal School closed in 1908 and Pedagogy classes moved into the Academy.  Beginning in 1911 Psychology and Education as a department were listed in the College classes.  In 1915 specific Teacher’s Courses appear for those students seeking to become high school teachers.

The Education Department separated from Psychology in 1925 and soon after began offering specific courses under High School or Parochial School specialties.  The 1930s brought Teaching into the course tracks that Gustavus recommended, these also included tracks such as the Ministry, medicine, law, etc.  A new course track designed for Elementary Teachers began in 1950.

A Bureau of Appointments existed from 1920-1942 which helped place students in teaching positions after graduating from Gustavus.  This continued after World War II but as a more general career center for all graduates.

As of fall 2016, the Education Department offered four programs: Elementary Education (Grades K-6); Middle Level Endorsements (Grades 5-8); Secondary Education (Grades 5-12 or 9-12); and Secondary Education (Grades K-12).

Scope and Content

The Education Department collection is divided into two sections: Administrative and Miscellaneous.

Administrative consists of enrollment materials, lists of graduates, minutes of the Student Teaching Council and the Teacher Education Advisory Council, reports for accreditation, and Education department and unit meeting minutes.

Miscellaneous contains library acquisition information, student work, photographs, and newspaper clippings.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License