Skip to main content

GACA Collection 413. Office of the Provost. Edgar M. Carlson Award for Distinguished Teaching, 1971-Ongoing: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Office of the Provost.  Edgar M. Carlson Award for Distinguished Teaching, 1971-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 413.  5 folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Edgar M. Carlson Award for Distinguished Teaching collection contains portraits and citations for each award recipient.  The Carlson Award was established in 1971 by the Board of Trustees of Gustavus Adolphus College to honor Edgar Carlson for his years of distinguished leadership as president and in recognition of his commitment to academic excellence.  Each year, after a nominating process involving staff and students, a member of the Gustavus faculty is selected to receive this award, in recognition of effective and innovative teaching.  This award is the highest honor granted to a member of the Gustavus faculty.  It represents a broadly shared desire to celebrate one teacher in each academic year who has demonstrated truly outstanding effort, accomplishment, and dedicated service to Gustavus students’ best educational interests.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License