Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 420. Swedish House. Collection of the Swedish House/Svenska Huset, 1974-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Swedish House.  Collection of the Swedish House/Svenska Huset, 1974-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 420.  1 Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Swedish House collection contains materials regarding the history of the Swedish House at Gustavus Adolphus College. Included are guests books, photographs, a list of Swedish House Alumni, materials regarding the 1998 tornado, the remodeling of the Swedish house, the requirements to be a part of the Swedish House, and a video documenting the destruction and rebuilding of the Swedish House.

Organization Note

“The Swedish House serves as a cultural center and Swedish language residence for students of the Swedish language and native Swedish speakers”

1972 - The Holly House, a campus owned house on 7th Street, was designated to have a Swedish theme
1976 - The Wolf House, also on 7th Street, became the new location of the Swedish House
1990 - The Wolf House painted yellow and blue\
1998 - The Swedish House was destroyed in the Tornado
1999 - The Peterson House on Campus was designated as the Swedish House
2001 - The Barbo Osher Svenska Huset was dedicated as part of the new Carlson International Center residence Hall. The new Swedish House includes a tapestry by Anita Graffman, commissioned by Ms. Osher for the House

*Information obtained from https://gustavus.edu/president/SwedishHeritage.php (September 2017)

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License