Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 426. Department of Biology. Collection of the Department of Biology, 1929-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Department of Biology.  Collection of the Department of Biology, 1929-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 426.  2 Records Center Cartons, 1 oversize folder, and digital media.

ABSTRACT:
The Department of Biology collection consists of photographs, departmental minutes, grant budgets, department assessments and reviews, and test results.  Photo themes include department parties, biology faculty and students, and outdoor activities/picnics.  Materials from Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society and Lambda Sigma Club are also held in this collection.

Historical Note

Botany was the first science class taught at Gustavus Adolphus College beginning in 1881.  By 1886, the Natural Science department consisted of Botany, Chemistry, Physics, Physiology, and Zoology.  The department was renamed Physical Sciences in 1888 when it added Astronomy, Geology, and Physical Geography.  In 1894, the sciences split into two categories, Physical Sciences and Natural History.  Natural History was comprised of Botany, Geology, and Zoology.  In 1901, Human Physiology and Physical Geography were added to the department.  In 1913, the sciences split into individual departments and the Department of Biology was born.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into four series: Administrative, Grants, Students, and Miscellaneous.

Administrative contains assessments, reviews, self-studies, meeting materials, and budgets.

Grants holds mostly grant budgets for various faculty members, along with a few proposals.

Students consists of materials regarding biology majors, statistics, test scores, and research projects.  Items related to Lambda Sigma (Biology Research Club) and Beta Beta Beta (Biological Honor Society) are also included.

Miscellaneous includes photo albums and videos.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License