Skip to main content

GACA Collection 429. Rydell Professorship Collection, 2006-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Rydell Professorship Collection, 2006-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 429.  Digital media.

ABSTRACT: 
The Rydell Professorship collection contains audio and video recordings of lectures given as a part of the scholar-in-residence program.  “The Rydell Professorship at Gustavus Adolphus College is a scholar-in-residence program designed to bring Nobel laureates and similarly distinguished scholars to the campus as catalysts to enhance learning and teaching.  The Rydell Professorship was established in 1993 by Drs. Robert E. and Susan T. Rydell to give students the opportunity to learn from and interact with leading scholars.”*

*Taken from website (https://gustavus.edu/events/rydell/history.php) 12 December 2018
 

Rydell Professors

1996 Spring Philip Anderson, Joseph Henry Professor of Physics, Emeritus at Princeton and Nobel Laureate in Physics
1997 Fall Philip Morrison, Professor of Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1999 Spring

Freeman Dyson, Professor Emeritus at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton

Margaret Geller, Senior Scientist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

2000 Spring Susan Coppersmith, Robert E. Fassnacht and a Vilas Professor of Physics at the University of Wisconsin, Madison
2000 Fall Masao Abe, Professor of Philosophy at Nara University of Education
2002 Spring Lawrence Levine, Retired Professor, University of California at Berkeley and George Mason University
2002 Fall Stephen Smale, Professor at the Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago and a Distinguished University Professor at the City University of Hong Kong
2006 Spring Dr. Robert Gallo, Director and Co-founder of the Institute of Human Virology at the University of Maryland School of Medicine
2007 Spring Sylvester James Gates, John S. Toll Professor of Physics at the University of Maryland
2008 Spring Franciscus (Frans) B.M. de Waal, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Primate Behavior at Emory University and Director of the Living Links Center at the Yerkes National Primate Research Center
2009 Spring Curtis Marean, Professor at the Institute of Human Origins as part of the School of Human Evolution and Social Change at Arizona State University
2010 Fall Derek Walcott, Nobel Laureate in Literature
2011 Spring Robert J. Lang, Artist of Origami
2012 Fall William Fitzgerald, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Marine Sciences, University of Connecticut
2013 Sylvester James Gates, John S. Toll Professor of Physics at the University of Maryland
2014 Summer David Sedlak, Malozemoff Professor in Mineral Engineering, Co-director of Berkeley Water Center, and Director of Institute for Environmental Science and Engineering
2016 Spring

Owen Flanagan, James B. Duke Professor of Philosophy and Professor of Neurobiology at Duke University

David Sedlak, Malozemoff Professor in Mineral Engineering, Co-director of Berkeley Water Center, and Director of Institute for Environmental Science and Engineering

2017-18

Dr. Helen King, Professor Emerita of Classical Studies at the Open University

Dr. Alison Murdoch, Professor of Reproductive Medicine and Newcastle University and Founder and Head of Newcastle Fertility Centre at Life

2019 Spring Dr. David Montgomery, Professor of Earth and Space Science at the University of Washington

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License