Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 433. Department of Chemistry. Collection of the Department of Chemistry, 1954-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Department of Chemistry.  Collection of the Department of Chemistry, 1954-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 433.  4 folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Department of Chemistry collection consists mainly of photographs.  Themes include images of lab equipment, students conducting experiments, and chemistry professors on a retreat.  It also includes departmental posters, newspaper clippings, and a note to alumni regarding the formation of the Association of Gustavus Chemists.

Historical Note

Chemistry was first introduced to the Natural Science Department at Gustavus Adolphus College during 1886.  The department also consisted of Botany, Physics, Physiology, and Zoology.  The department was renamed the Physical Science Department in 1888 when it added Astronomy, Geology, and Physical Geography.  In 1894 the sciences spilt into two categories, Physical Sciences and Natural History.  Physical Sciences was made up of Physics, Chemistry and Astronomy.  In 1901, Advanced Chemistry and Organic Chemistry were added to the course catalog along with General Chemistry.  During 1914, the Physical Sciences split into individual departments and the Department of Chemistry was formed.  The Biochemistry department formed during 1995.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License