Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 439. Hillstrom Museum of Art. Collection of the Hillstrom Museum of Art, 2000-Ongoing: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Hillstrom Museum of Art.  Collection of the Hillstrom Museum of Art, 2000-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 439.  2 Hollinger boxes.

ABSTRACT:
The Hillstrom Museum of Art collection consists of flyers and programs about different art exhibits beginning in 2000.  Programs contain artist information and notes, images and descriptions of displayed works, and the director’s notes.  There is also a book about items from Richard L. Hillstrom’s personal collection, a list of the Hillstrom Museum’s art exhibits, and a book of essays discussing works from the Hillstrom Museum’s Focus In/On program. 

Organization Note

“The Hillstrom Museum of Art has spacious galleries, and during the academic year has an active schedule of temporary exhibitions of national, international, and regional artwork, art from the permanent collection, and also exhibits of student and faculty artwork.”

Gustavus Adolphus College graduate Reverend Richard L. Hillstrom, Class of 1938, collected art during his lifetime and donated a large number of these works to the college. His founding donation created the Hillstrom Museum of Art.

Taken from website https://gustavus.edu/finearts/hillstrom/, 14 February 2020. 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License