Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 446. Department of Psychological Science. Collection of the Department of Psychological Science, 1891-Ongoing: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Department of Psychological Science.  Collection of the Department of Psychological Science, 1981-Ongoing.  GACA Collection 446.  1 Records Center Carton, ½ Hollinger box, and 1 gray box.

ABSTRACT:
The Department of Psychological Science collection consists of planning correspondence concerning the Kendall Lecture Series, Emil’s Epilogue, the Psychology newsletter and Psi Chi Honor Society materials.  Other materials include budgets, chair files, department evaluations, and photographs of classrooms, activities, students, faculty, picnics, etc.  There are a few memorabilia items, including shirts, stamps, a graduation honors cord, and department name plates.  The majority of the materials come from the 1980s-2000s.
 

Historical Note

The first psychology course at Gustavus Adolphus College was offered in 1894 by the Philosophy Department.  In 1913, the Psychology and Education Department was created.  In 1925, the Psychology Department was created; the department changed its name to Psychological Science in 2012.

The first course relating to neuroscience, Physiological Psychology, was offered in 1964.  The Neuroscience minor was created in 2005 and consists of courses from both psychology and biology departments.  

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into three series: Department, John Kendall Lecture Series, and Psi Chi Honor Society.

Department contains all materials related to the department, including administrative and financial materials, newsletters, conference and symposium materials, and photographs.

John Kendall Lecture Series consists of a history of the lecture series as well as transcripts of lectures.

Psi Chi Honor Society includes membership lists, budgets, reports, and activities.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License