Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 447. Uhler, Jacob P. Collection of Rev. Dr. J.P. Uhler, 1854-1991: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Uhler, Jacob P.  Collection of Rev. Dr. J.P. Uhler, 1854-1991.  GACA Collection 447.  1 Records Center Carton, 1 Hollinger box, 2 half Hollinger boxes, and 1 oversize folder.

ABSTRACT:
The J.P. Uhler collection contains materials from the life of Jacob P. Uhler.  Most materials relate to his professional careers as both a professor and a pastor.  These include addresses and lectures, correspondence, notebooks, and sermons.  There are also materials related to his time as a student at Lafayette College and Lutheran Theological Seminary.  Uhler was a professor of physical sciences, astronomy, and meteorology at Gustavus Adolphus College from 1882-1937.  In addition, he served as acting president from 1911-13.  During his time in St. Peter he was a founding member of Trinity Lutheran Church.
 

Biographical Note

Jacob Peter Uhler was born in Easton, Pennsylvania on 26 August 1854 to Frederic and Elizabeth (More) Uhler.  He attended the state normal school at Kutzdown, Pennsylvania.  He received both a B.A. and M.A. from Lafayette College in Easton, Pennsylvania, and then attended a three-year course at Lutheran Theological Seminary in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, graduating in 1881.  Following graduation, he was ordained as a pastor of the Pennsylvania Ministerium at Pottstown, Pennsylvania.

After teaching at the normal school at Kutztown, he moved to St. Peter, Minnesota to answer a call for a professor of mathematics and natural sciences at Gustavus Adolphus College.  During his fifty-five year career, Uhler became known as the “Grand Old Man of Gustavus.”  He served as vice-president from 1895-1932, and as acting president from 1911-13.  After his death in 1941, the newly constructed men’s dorm was named Uhler Hall in his honor, and idea initiated and promoted by students.

In 1892, Uhler became a co-founder of First English Lutheran Church (later Trinity Lutheran Church) in St. Peter, the first English Lutheran congregation of the Minnesota Conference of the Augustana Synod.  He was an active member for 45 years.

On 28 June 1882, Jacob Uhler married Elizabeth Walter.  They had five children, Frederick, Paul, Luther, Laura, and Francis, three who lived to adulthood.  Elizabeth died on 6 July 1937, and Jacob died on 9 February 1941.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into three series: Personal, Professional, and Miscellaneous.

Personal holds addresses, awards, diaries, certificates, and schoolwork.

School Notes contains diplomas, notes, and notebooks from his time at Lafayette College in Easton, Pennsylvania, and Lutheran Theological Seminary in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Professional includes materials from his careers in academia and religion.

Academia consists of addresses, correspondence, and teaching/research notes from his time teaching at Gustavus Adolphus College.  Also included are materials related to local, state, and national teacher’s organizations.  An inventory of the correspondence can be found at the end of this finding aid.

Religion is comprised of addresses, sermons, and notes.

Miscellaneous contains items related to Gustavus and Trinity Lutheran Church that mostly occurred after Uhler’s death.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License