Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 454. Owen, Lawrence. Collection of Lawrence Owen, 1968-2020: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Owen, Lawrence.  Collection of Lawrence Owen, 1968-2020.  GACA Collection 454.  5 folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Lawrence Owen Collection contains files from his time as a professor at Gustavus Adolphus College.  Included are newspaper articles, a book written by Owen, orientation banquet speeches, a commencement speech, and a description and list of articles read by a faculty discussion group titled the “Uncalled”. 

Biographical Note

Lawrence Owen was an English professor at Gustavus from 1963-96.  He received his B.A. from Hardin-Simmons University and his M.A. from the University of Wyoming in 1961.  Owen also did graduate study at the University of Iowa and the University of Kansas.  In addition, Owen was an exchange professor at Alexander Mackie College in Sydney, Australia.  He retired in 1996 and moved to California where he married Cheryl Downey, a member of the Gustavus Class of 1966.  The Lawrence Owen Prizes in Creative Writing are named in his honor at Gustavus.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License