Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GACA Collection 457. Thorstensson, Roland. Collection of Roland Thorstensson, 1990-2020: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Thorstensson, Roland.  Collection of Roland Thorstensson, 1990-2020.  GACA Collection 457.  2 folders.

ABSTRACT: 
The Roland Thorstensson collection consists of several writings centered on various topics such as his memories of campus, family history, and his experience of studying in Sweden.  Content dates from 1990-2020.

Biographical Note

Roland Thorstensson attended Swedish Gymnasium until he was nineteen.  He received a full ride from the University of Washington.  He traveled across the Atlantic on an ocean liner called the M/S Kungsholm to pursue his interests in the field of history, specifically American History.  However, during his time in Seattle, he discovered Scandinavian Studies.  He received his B.A. in History and German and his Ph.D. in Scandinavian Studies at the University of Washington.  During his time at Gustavus Adolphus College, he taught several courses such as Swedish Languages, English, Nordic Literature, Nordic Theater and Film, Sami Culture, and many other interdisciplinary courses from 1971-2010.  Thorstensson taught Physical Education (aerobics) in the 1980s, and assistant coached both soccer and cross-country skiing, both on campus and in Scandinavia.  He was also a head resident in Uhler Hall from 1971-74.  His wife, Edi, was a librarian at Gustavus for many years, and his two children, Martin and Liv, lived in Sweden and Norway with them when he had sabbatical leaves.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License