To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.
Zust, Barbara L. Collection of Barbara Zust, 1996-2022. GACA Collection 474. 1 Hollinger box.
ABSTRACT:
The Barbara Zust collection consists of publications, grant writing, applications, syllabi, certificates, and correspondence. Barbara Zust taught maternity and mental health nursing at Gustavus from 2000-2022. The majority of her published content explores women’s mental health, specifically relating to survivors of domestic violence and incarcerated women. Zust received many certifications during her time at Gustavus, several of which were online programs.
Barbara “Barb” Zust graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1976 with a B.A. in Nursing. She received her M.S. in Nursing Education from the University of Minnesota in 1998, followed by a PhD in Nursing from the University of Minnesota in 2003. After working for various hospitals in Minnesota and Colorado, Zust became a professor of nursing at Gustavus in 2000. During her master’s research, she received a research grant with INSIGHT: A Group Cognitive Therapy Program for Women in 1996. Her research focused on women who were victims of domestic violence. Barbara continued this research through her doctoral program.
At Gustavus, Zust taught courses about mental health, perinatal health, psychiatric nursing, and general nursing concepts. Additionally, she led study away programs in Alaska, Sweden, India, Nepal, Tanzania, and Madagascar.
Zust was a member of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing, the Minnesota Nurses Association, Rural Nursing Organization, and the Nursing Network Against Violence Against Women International. She received the Edgar M. Carlson Award for Teaching Excellence in 2011. Zust served as the President for the Chi-Chapter-at-Large, Secretary of the Minnesota Intercollegiate Nursing Consortium (MINC) Board, and as the secretary, editor, and board member for the Nursing Network on Violence Against Women International.
This collection contains three series: Course Materials, Personal Materials, and Publications and Presentations.
Course Materials, 2003-22 and undated, includes course proposals and syllabi created by Zust.
Personal Materials, 2000-11 and undated, is comprised of papers written for courses and certifications that Zust received.
Publications and Presentations, 2000-22 and undated, consists of published and unpublished articles written by Zust, along with presentations she gave.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
