Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 016. Compilation Collections of Church Congregations in the Minnesota Synod, Red River Valley Synod, and Northwest Synod, 1842-2008: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Compilation Collections of Church Congregations in the Minnesota Synod, Red River Valley Synod, and Northwest Synod, 1842-2008.  LCA Collection 16.  15 Records Center Cartons and ½ Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Compilation Collections of Church Congregations in the Minnesota Synod, Red River Valley Synod, and Northwest Synod collection contains materials from congregations within the Lutheran Church in America and predecessor bodies.  It includes bulletins, anniversary booklets, histories, and newsletters.  Congregations are primarily from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.  In addition, there are a handful of churches from Montana, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington.  There are some records concerning membership and committees within a limited number of local congregations. 

Historical Note

The Northwest Synod, which began in 1891, was part of the United Lutheran Church in America. The Northwest Synod dissolved when the United Lutheran Church in America and the Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Synod merged with two other church bodies to form the Lutheran Church in America during 1962.  The Augustana Synod was organized in 1860 and eventually included the Minnesota and Red River Valley conferences.  When the Lutheran Church in America was created, the Northwest Synod was dissolved and its congregations were absorbed into new Synods.  The Minnesota and Red River Valley conferences subsequently grew and were renamed as Synods. 

 

*Congregation files found in this collection come primarily from churches within these divisions.

Scope and Content

This collection is made up of six series; Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Other States.  Materials are organized by state and then city/locality.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License