Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 017. Twin City Lutheran Relocation Hostel. Records of the Twin City Lutheran Relocation Hostel (Nisei Hostel). 1943-1948: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Twin City Lutheran Relocation Hostel (Nisei Hostel).  Records of the Twin City Lutheran Relocation Hostel (Nisei Hostel). 1943-1948.  LCA Collection 17.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes and 1 card catalogue box.

ABSTRACT:
The Twin City Lutheran Relocation Hostel (Nisei Hostel) collection consists of financial documents, ledgers, background information, correspondence, and minutes.  The facility was created to provide a temporary home for Japanese-American citizens after their experiences in relocation camps during World War II.  The hostel was funded by the Board of American Missions and the Women’s Missionary Society of the Augustana Lutheran Church; it was staffed by just three women.

Historical Note

The Twin City Lutheran Relocation Hostel (Nisei Hostel) opened its doors in 1943, prepared to take in men, women, and children released by the War Relocation Authority. The hostel provided temporary homes for Japanese-American citizens from nine relocation centers throughout the western United States. The hostel was directed by Martha B. Akard, who had been the principal of a girls’ high school in Kumamoto, Kyushu, Japan, and was fluent in Japanese. 

Scope and Content

The collection is divided into two series.

Financial Documents, 1943-1948: This includes receipts and ledgers from the everyday expenses to general accounting ledgers, tax and tax exemption forms, and yearly financial statements.

Miscellaneous, 1943-1946: This includes background information, literature on resettlement and minorities, minutes, correspondence, statistics, and registration cards.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License