Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 028. Bomgren, Carl Oscar. Sermons and Papers of Rev. Carl Oscar Bomgren, 1907-1989: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Bomgren, Carl Oscar.  Sermons and Papers of Rev. Carl Oscar Bomgren, 1907-1989.  LCA Collection 28.  1 ½ Hollinger boxes, 1 flat box, and 2 oversize folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Carl Oscar Bomgren collection contains the papers of Pastor Carl Oscar Bomgren.  Included are course materials from his time at school, sermon notes, and other writings.  Also included are diplomas and certificates belonging to Bomgren, his wife, and their daughter, Linné.  Bomgren served parishes in Iowa, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, New York, and Minnesota.  This collection is arranged alphabetically; the sermon books are arranged chronologically.

Biographical Note

Carl Oscar Bomgren (1880-1963) was born in Sweden on 27 September 1880.  He attended Academy in Rock Island, Illinois and one year at Augustana College.  He then attended Upsala in East Orange, New Jersey before graduating from Bethany College in Lindsborg, Kansas.  He graduated from the Lutheran Theological Seminary at Chicago in 1910 and from the Augustana Theological Seminary during 1911.  The same year he was ordained into the Augustana Lutheran Church in Duluth, Minnesota.  His first parish was in Marathon and Laurens, Iowa.  His second parish was in Greensburg, Pennsylvania.  He also served in parishes in Meriden, Connecticut; Falconer, New York; Lake City, Minnesota; and in Clarkfield, Minnesota, his last parish.  He retired in 1954.  He married Ella Cecelia Dahl in 1911, and they had three children: Linné, Olga, and Roy.

*biographical information taken from obituary published in the Lutheran Church in America - Minnesota Synod Minutes, 1964.

Scope and Content

This collection is divided into three sections.  The first section, Youth, holds materials from Bomgren’s school years.  The second section, Adult, consists of materials from his adult life and work.  The third section contains items regarding wife, and their daughter, Linné Bomgren.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License