Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 034. Pehrson, John. Collection of Rev. John Pehrson, 1854-1901: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Pehrson, John.  Collection of Rev. John Pehrson, 1854-1901.  LCA Collection 34.  ½ Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Rev. John Pehrson collection consists of sermons and sermon outlines, correspondence, documents pertaining to Pehrson and his wife, Sarah, account books, a Christmas card, a couple newspaper clippings, and Pehrson’s obituary.  Pehrson served as a pastor within the Augustana Synod, primarily in Minnesota from 1862 through 1882.  His main parish was Scandian Grove Lutheran Church near St. Peter, Minnesota.  Folders are organized alphabetically.

Historical Note

John Pehrson was born 13 July 1821 in Vemshög, Blekinge, Sweden.  After emigrating, he graduated from Illinois State University, Springfield during1860.  As a minister, he served parishes in Jamestown, New York and Sugar Grove, Pennsylvania between 1860 and 1862.  From 1862-63, he was in Marine, Minnesota.  His longest position was at Scandian Grove in Norseland, Minnesota from 1863-82.  In addition to his work in local congregations he served as President of the Minnesota Conference of the Augustana Synod.  Pehrson married Sarah Johnson about 1863.  Pehrson died 21 May 1901 in St. Peter, Minnesota.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License