Skip to main content

LCA Collection 078. Montana Mission District, Augustana Synod, 1894-1935: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Montana Mission District, Augustana Synod, 1894-1935.  LCA Collection 78.  ½ Hollinger box and 1 small box.

ABSTRACT:
The Montana Home Mission District collection contains writings about the history of the district, pastors, and churches, the district’s Luther League, and a slide presentation about the district and local congregations. Histories were written by Rev. Emeroy Johnson, who served parishes in Missoula, Montana from 1928-36. The slides consist of 70 lantern slides showing members of local congregations and tourist locations in western Montana during the early 1930s.

Organization Note

The Montana District was one of many home mission districts in the Augustana Synod.  These mission districts usually existed in parts of the United States that did not have a very large population of ethnic Swedes, so it was not considered large enough to constitute a conference.  Pastors were sent to these home mission districts to try and set up congregations and organize churches, mostly to those already identifying as Lutherans or as Swedish Americans.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License