Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 120. Mattson, Peter August. Records and Diaries of Rev. P.A. Mattson, 1886-1950: Overview

Digital Content

Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online through our digital collections.

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Mattson, Peter August.  Records and Diaries of Rev. P.A. Mattson, 1886-1950.  LCA Collection 120.  1 legal Hollinger box, ½ Hollinger box, and 1 large flat box.

ABSTRACT:
The Records and Diaries of Rev. P.A. Mattson collection contains academic material from his time as a student in Gustavus Adolphus College and the University of Minnesota, as well as his diaries, a history of the Mattson family, and miscellaneous correspondence and recognition.  Materials are printed in both Swedish and English.  Mattson served as president of Gustavus from 1904-11 and President of the Minnesota Conference, Augustana Synod from 1913-39.

Biographical Note

Peter August Mattson was born 29 September 1865 in Sweden and immigrated to the United States at the age of 16.  He graduated from Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota during 1892, was ordained through the Augustana Seminary in 1894, and received his doctorate from the University of Minnesota in 1906.  Mattson later served as president of Gustavus from 1904 to 1911 and president of the Minnesota Conference of the Augustana Synod from 1913 to 1939.  Mattson married Annie Olson in 1895.  He died on 4 April 1944 in Hopkins, Minnesota.

Scope and Content

The P.A. Mattson collection is organized into four series: Diaries, Education, Family & Genealogy, and Miscellaneous.  Most materials in this collection date from either before or after Mattson’s term as president of Gustavus Adolphus College.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License