Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 128. Thelander, Hulda E. Collection of Hulda Thelander, 1921-1982: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Thelander, Hulda E. Collection of Hulda Thelander, 1921-1982. LCA Collection 128. ½ Hollinger box.

ABSTRACT:
The Hulda Thelander collection consists of essays, articles, reports, letters, and diaries written by Hulda Thelander on her travels throughout Asia, Europe, South America, Africa, the South Pacific, Mexico, and Israel from 1921-82.  The collection also includes newspaper clippings, holiday letters, and biographical information about Hulda Thelander and her family.

Biographical Note

Dr. Hulda E. Thelander was born 11 January 1896 in Little Falls, Minnesota.  Daughter of John/Johan August Thelander and Ida Olsen/Olsson.  She graduated with a B.S. from the University of Minnesota and then went on to complete both her M.A. and M.D. at the same institution.  Thelander began her work as a medical missionary to China (1926-27) and then returned to the United States to begin a pediatrics practice in San Francisco, California.  She later taught as a clinical professor at both the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) and Stanford Medical School and published papers on childhood development, diseases, and chronic disorders.

Information obtained from the collection, the Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science, and the University of Minnesota - Minnesota Medical Foundation (http://www.mmf.umn.edu/academic/scholarships/med_scholarships.cfm).

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License