Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 151. Augustana Synod. Association of English Churches. Convention Minutes of the Association of English Churches, 1915-1917: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Augustana Synod.  Association of English Churches.  Convention Minutes of the Association of English Churches, 1915-1917.  LCA Collection 151.  1 folder.

ABSTRACT:
The Minutes of the Augustana Synod Association of English Churches includes the minutes of the eighth, ninth, and tenth conventions.  Recorded are reports of mission activity and news of the synod, as well as lists of the congregations involved.  The Association of English Churches was formed within the Augustana Synod in 1908 as a minority group within the larger Swedish speaking body.

Historical Note

The majority of Augustana Synod congregations used Swedish as their primary language. The influence of World War I caused a national shift in patriotism, and consequently the English language was utilized more prevalently in many churches of the Augustana Synod for church services and in conducting business.

Information from the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America archives

http://www.elca.org/Who-We-Are/History/ELCA-Archives/ELCA-Family-Tree/Augustana-Synod.aspx  28 January 2013

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License