Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 152. Collection of the Bethphage Mission, Axtell, Nebraska, 1914-1970: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Collection of the Bethphage Mission, Axtell, Nebraska, 1914-1970.  LCA Collection 152.  6 folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Collection of the Bethphage Mission of Axtell, Nebraska contains written histories of the Mission as well as anniversary material, articles of incorporation, and anniversary materials.  Reverend K.G. Wm. Dahl founded Bethphage Mission in 1913 as a Christian home and hospital for those with mental and physical disabilities.  Also established was a program of deacons and deaconesses to aid in the Mission’s running.  By 1966 the Bethphage Mission had disbanded but was formed again as Bethphage Mission, Inc. under the operation of several LCA synods.

Organization Note

The Bethphage Mission was established in 1913 as a Christian home and hospital by the Reverend K.G. Wm. Dahl for the physically and mentally disabled.

Information from Bethphage Historical Sketch by Carl Almen and the ELCA archives: https://www.elca.org/Who-We-Are/History/ELCA-Archives/Exhibits/Lutheran-Deaconess-History/Bethphage-Mission.aspx (dated 01/31/2013).

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License