Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 153. Lindberg, Paul Martin Emanuel. Sermons, Papers, and Materials of Rev. Paul Lindberg, 1913-1992: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Lindberg, Paul Martin Emanuel.  Sermons, Papers, and Materials of Rev. Paul Lindberg, 1913-1992.  LCA Collection 153.  1 Record Center Carton, 2 Hollinger boxes, and 1 oversize folder.

ABSTRACT:
The collection of Rev. Paul Lindberg contains primarily sermons from several decades of liturgical cycles.  Additionally, included are reflections on preaching techniques, correspondence, diplomas, and alumni materials of the Augustana Theological Seminary.  Lindberg served as a minister in the Augustana Lutheran Synod as well as a professor of Augustana Theological Seminary, President of Luther College and Academy of Wahoo, Nebraska, and director of the Lutheran World Federation Service to Refugees in Frankfort, Germany.

Biographical Note

Lindberg was born in Omaha, Nebraska on 5 March 1905.  He graduated from Rock Island’s Augustana College in 1926, obtained a degree from the Augustan Theological Seminary in 1930, and received a Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska in 1946.  Lindberg was ordained on 8 June 1930 into the Augustana Lutheran Synod and married Hortense Dorothy Larson on 21 June of that same year and later had four children.  He served as a pastor in Hordville and Central City, Nebraska from 1930 to 1935 and President of Luther College and Academy in Wahoo, Nebraska from 1935 to 1941.  Lindberg was pastor of First Lutheran Church in Saint Paul, Minnesota from 1941 to 1945 and a professor at Augustana Theological Seminary from 1945 to 1962.  He directed the Lutheran World Federation Service to Refugees from Frankfort, Germany from 1949 to 1950, acted as chaplain for the Immanuel Deaconess Hospital of Omaha from 1962 to 1964, and served as editor for LCA Board of Parish Education from 1964 to 1970.  Lindberg held a position as visitation pastor from 1970 to 1977 for First Lutheran Church of Saint Peter, Minnesota, and passed away in Saint Peter on 21 October 1992.

Scope and Content

The collection has been divided into two series.  The first contains an accumulation of sermons from Lindberg’s ministerial career and additional material pertaining to the religious activity of his congregations.  The second series includes diplomas, anniversary and alumni items of the Augustana Theological Seminary, correspondence, pieces composed during Lindberg’s time in Germany, and historical materials of Luther College of Wahoo, Nebraska.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License