Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LCA Collection 159. Lutheran Minnesota Conference. Duluth District. Records of the Duluth District, 1912-1962: Overview

Need More Information?

To learn more about this collection please see the finding aid link found above, and/or visit the College and Lutheran Church Archives to use these primary sources.

Collection Description

Lutheran Minnesota Conference.  Duluth District.  Records of the Duluth District, 1912-1962.  LCA Collection 159.  3 folders.

ABSTRACT:
The Duluth District collection contains minutes from district meetings and financial information.  The Duluth District of the Lutheran Minnesota Conference of the Augustana Synod was located in Northeast Minnesota and the Southern portion of Northwest Ontario, Canada.  The District included parts of Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis counties in Minnesota.  Duluth District formed during 1912 from areas that were previously part of the Lake Superior District; and in 1958, it was dissolved back into the Lake Superior District.  As a result of these transitions, some Lake Superior District materials are found in this collection.  The Northern half of the Duluth District broke away to become the Iron Range District during 1930.  The Iron Range District did not dissolve into the Lake Superior District with the Duluth District in 1958.  Some of this collection is in Swedish.

District Map

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License